Federal System of Government

  • Sudan Switches to Federal System of Government

    Fed 3Sudan is set to abandon the 18 state structure of the country and opt for several regions.
    The Sovereign Council issued a statement on Thursday to the effect that the country has adopted the Federal system of Government.
    "The President of the Council, Lieutenant General Abdel Fattah Al-Burhan, issued a constitutional decree, establishing a regional (federal) system of government," the statement disclosed.
    According to the peace agreement signed on On October 3, 2020, the peace agreement was signed to the effect that there would be a constitutional conference on governance.
    The Conference would determine the number and borders of the regions, in addition to their structures and powers, including the levels of governance and administration.
    It is expected that the conference will divide the country into 6 regions, which are Khartoum, Darfur, Kordofan, Eastern Sudan, Northern, and the Central Region.
    The Central Region includes the states of Jazira, Sennar, and the Blue Nile, the Northern Region includes the states of the River Nile and the North, while the Eastern Region includes the states of Gadaref, Kassala, and the Red Sea, and Darfur Region encompasses its current 5 states.